View by Region

Mississippi is divided up into six major cultural regions: The Delta, The Red Clay Hills, The Appalachian Foothills, The Black Prairie, The Piney Woods, and the Gulf Coast. Each region has unique geographical features that help to distinguish them from the others. These natural characteristics also influenced the type of people who settled in each region and the kinds of work that they developed for themselves. Because of this, each of Mississippi’s regions has developed its own unique history and cultural traditions.

Select a region from the map or the list below.

Select a region

Gulf Coast Piney Woods Appalachian Foothills Black Prairie Red Clay Hills Delta